The beautitudes of the Savior

It would be trivial to ask if you want to be happy because all people want it. Attending the worship services of the church, you often hear the beatitudes of the Lord Jesus Christ. The Savior began His famous Sermon on the Mount with these 8 beatitudes. I will tell you each of them, as they are written at the beginning of chapter 5 of the Gospel of Matthew:

When Jesus saw the crowds, He went up on the mountain; and after He sat down, His disciples came to Him. He opened His mouth and began to teach them, saying,

1. Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

2. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

3. Blessed are the gentle, for they shall inherit the earth.

4. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

5. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

6. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

7. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

8. Blessed are those who have been persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when people insult you and persecute you, and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of Me. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward in heaven is great; for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

These 8 are the qualities of character of the man who has concluded a covenant with the Lord Jesus Christ and whose heart was changed when he received the Holy Spirit.

All people want to be happy, but least realize that our happiness is related to the relationship we have with God and to the quality of our character. Therefore, they seek happiness in money, wealth, career, studies, etc. Because they do not find it, they become unhappier day by day. Where are you looking for happiness?

Translated by Felicia Rotaru